My Weekend in Food for June 15: Smorgasburg, Ba Xuyen & Astoria Restaurant Hopping

I just about rolled myself home after this weekend of food and drink debauchery. I ate and drank well in both Brooklyn and Queens, and the only thing that’s getting me off the couch for the rest of the weekend is the finale of ‘Game of Thrones’ – what else?! Among the most notable food adventures for the Weekend of June 15th:

smorgphoto

Credit: Brookyln Flea

I visited Smorgasburg Williamsburg for the first time this year. I generally visit the DUMBO location because 1) it’s whole lot quieter and closer than Williamsburg and 2) the big lawn against the water is the perfect setting for a hardcore food coma recovery. I was disappointed when I couldn’t find any pupusas (Salvadorian cheese goodness), but it was more than made up by the discovery of Palenque, a seriously kick-ass homemade Colombian spot that served up some of the best arepas I’ve had.

arepas

Among other yummies I tried – and by try, I mean I stole from my friends’ plates – were fried achovies with a killer dipping sauce from Bon Chovie and some Coconut Milk Sticky Rice and Mango from Bamboo Bites.

banhmi2I dined around Astoria and noshed at both Astoria Bier & Cheese (Ditmars location) and Front Toward Enemy. Astoria Bier & Cheese was most notable for its quaint outdoor space and its surprisingly cheap and delicious $11 Large Cheese Plate. I really want to try the Cheese and Honey plate next time I visit.  Front Toward Enemy had an incredibly posh vibe, inventive cocktails (definitely try the Divide & Conquer – violet liquor will always win my heart), and the best damn chickpea fries I’ve ever had.

I’m glad I ran and walked plenty this weekend, because I was able to leave room today to try a Brooklyn classic – Ba Xuyen, a place widely considered to be the best bahn mi spot in New York City. I love hanging out in Sunset Park, especially in the part verging upon Borough Park – it’s always a lovely time to stroll around near Greenwood Cemetary. The long walk from the train to Ba Xuyen was the perfect thing to pique my appetite, but even so, I could only polish off half of the delightful sandwich I ordered. I picked the Shredded Pork, doused in spicy fish sauce and covered in copious amounts of cilantro and carrots, just as it should be. This is definitely one of those sandwiches that lasts over the span of two days, and it was only $5.

baxuyen

And now I’m home, starting a one gallon batch of a dry English cider with black tea, honey, and lime juice. Now the question is – will I have room to get my favorite cheese sandwich at Halyards for the ‘Game of Thrones’ finale?

Leave a comment